• Eight Soto 40 boats of six different nationalities are taking part in the European Championship.
  • Owner Andy Soriano has to defend the owner driver title against the British Tony Buckingham and the German Stefan Jenztscz.
  • The Finnish team Audi X-Sail Racing makes its premier in the Soto 40 class with a skipper Samuli Leisti.

The Marina Real Juan Carlos I de Valencia is ready to host the fifth final match of the Soto 40 European Championship, which at the same time is the European Championship of this class with doubles scoring. After the matches in Barcelona, Porto Cervo, Palma and Sotogrande, the racers’ fleet of 8 boats from 6 different countries has moved to Valencia to fight for the continental champions title. Among the other teams, the Finnish Audi X-Sail Racing team will make its premiere on board of the Soto 40 with the boat Opportunity 4 FIN.

The event features four intense racing days plus one day of official training racing with the runs of windward-leeward deciding the overall winner as well as the owner driver title of the European Championship and the Circuit.

The competition leaders Iberdrola Team lead by Agustín Zulueta, who are the winners of the Sardinia Cup, will attempt to maintain the advantage of 18 points over Andy Soriano’s Alegre, the winner of the Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre. Portuguese Bigamist team also shows great potential; they are the winners of the last match at Sotogrande and have aboard several Olympic sailors. The rest of the teams participating include Noticia IV with a skipper Luis Martín Cabiedes, the Black Pearl of Stefan Jenztsch, which is race by race showing its potential, the Ngoni of Tony Buckingham and the new Finnish Opportunity 4 FIN headed by Samuli Leisti, making a debut in the Soto 40 European Championship race.

Participant Teams in Valencia:

  • ESP19 Iberdrola Team – Agustín Zulueta (Spain)
  • GBR20 Ngoni – Tony Buckingham (GB)
  • ESP21 Noticia IV – Luis Martín Cabiedes (Spain)
  • ESP22 Opportunity 4 FIN – Samuli Leisti (Finland)
  • GER27 Black Pearl – Stefan Jenztsch (Germany)
  • POR30 Bigamist – Pedro Mendoça (Portugal)
  • BVI33 Alegre – Andy Soriano (BVI)
  • ESP02 Solete – Román Turró (Spain)

Source: soto40europe.org