The new Theatre Style racing proved to be both exciting and promising. Matheiu Frei and Yann Rocherieux from France sailed very well throughout the week and took an advantage of the new format to win the overall title.

Just after the finish one of the happy winners, Rocherieux said, “We only made 1 mistake per day. Today it was the first race and then we said ‘no, we won’t give up” and now we won.” Second overall place took Allan Norregaard and Anders Thomsen (Denmark) who surprised everybody with their twin trapezing technique.

But the honour of the greatest and expert sailing of the day went to the Youth team of James Peters and Ed Fitzgerald (GBR) who were 3rd overall. After the exciting race Peters said: “We managed to scrap through and win our group which meant we went into the top 8 and we sailed really consistently with no bad roundings or capsizing. Incredibly that meant we went into the top 4 and the Croatians had to do a 360 on the last mark and we came 3rd overall, and way surpassed our expectations so we’re really happy.”

The theatre style course made teams to take quick decisions and kept the racing exciting during all the time as well as demanded very high class boat handling skills. The knock-out heats also ensured continued excitement and gave a chance for last minute advancement for those who won.

The Silver fleet, the majority who continued in the fleet racing, was won by the Germans Philipp Muller and Moritz Janich who had advanced to the Finals and ended in a tie with the team of Carl Sylvan and Otto Helm from Sweden.

The SEIKO King of the Downwind prize was given to the team with the least time spent sailing downwind, and went to Croatian sailors Pavle Kostov and Petar Cupac. This was determined by SAP analytics and GPS data. The team with the fastest recorded time during the race was Tim Elsner and Marco Grasse (GER) with a 24.3 knot record.